Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences of the United States of America

About the PNAS Member Editor
Name Aro, Eva-Mari
Location University of Turku
Primary Field Plant Biology
 Election Citation
Aro's brilliant scientific career utilizing biophysical methods to probe light acclimation and function of the photosynthetic apparati of oxygenic phototrophs is matched by an equally accomplished career as organizer of collaborative international photosynthesis meetings and research programs. She recently served as president of the Finnish Academy of Science and Letters.
 Research Interests
Eva-Mari Aro┬┐s laboratory is interested in the function, regulation, photodamage and repair of the photosynthetic apparatus in oxygen evolving photosynthetic organisms. The group has provided molecular level information about dynamic regulation mechanisms of light harvesting and electron transfer pathways in cyanobacteria and the chloroplasts of algae, mosses and higher plants, crucial for survival of photosynthetic organisms upon changes in environmental conditions. Systemic identification and functional characterization of novel proteins, protein post-translational modifications and protein-protein interactions (protein complexes) involved in the biogenesis, assembly, regulation and acclimation of the photosynthetic apparatus have revealed distinct strategies between cyanobacteria and chloroplasts as well as in the course of evolution of land plants. The group also investigates how the photosynthetic apparatus senses environmental changes and relays information for the short- and long-term acclimation of plants and cyanobacteria. More recently, the research has also included applied bioenergy research in attempts to adopt photosynthetic principles towards production of sustainable fuels and chemicals in cyanobacteria cell factories.

These pages are for the use of PNAS Editorial Board members and authors searching for PNAS member editors. For information about the National Academy of Sciences or its membership, please see
National Academy of Sciences | Copyright ©2021, All Rights Reserved