Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences of the United States of America

About the PNAS Member Editor
Name Manley, Jim
Location Columbia University
Primary Field Biochemistry
Secondary Field Cellular and Developmental Biology
 Election Citation
Manley is a world leader in eukaryotic gene expression. He identified the key factors in mRNA polyadenylation, discovered the first alternative splicing factor (SR protein), demonstrated that combinations of small nuclear RNAs have catalytic activity, and elucidated unexpected links between RNA processing and transcription, cell signaling and disease.
 Research Interests
James L. Manley is a leader in the broad field of eukaryotic gene expression. He has made multiple important discoveries in this area over the course of the last quarter century. Manley and colleagues identified and characterized the key factors responsible for polyadenylation of mRNA precursors, and elucidated how this remarkably complex machinery functions in gene regulation, for example during cell growth and differentiation. He has also studied the mechanism and regulation of the process by which introns are removed from mRNA precursors, mRNA splicing. Manley and his coworkers discovered the first alternative splicing factor (SR protein), characterized how this and other splicing regulatory proteins function and are themselves regulated, showed how alternative splicing can become deregulated in disease, and with respect to mechanism demonstrated that two spliceosomal small nuclear RNAs by themselves have catalytic activity. Finally, he elucidated unexpected links between these mRNA processing reactions and transcription, DNA damage signaling and maintenance of genomic stability. His work has thus provided considerable insight into the complex mechanisms that are essential for the regulated production of mRNAs in mammalian cells.

These pages are for the use of PNAS Editorial Board members and authors searching for PNAS member editors. For information about the National Academy of Sciences or its membership, please see
National Academy of Sciences | Copyright ©2022, All Rights Reserved